Current PhD Student Projects


 
 
2014 Fall
 
 
Sepideh Dadgar sdadgar1@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Chris Phenix (Chemistry)

Hassan Gorji hgorji@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Marina Ulanova (Biology, NOSM)
 
Sahar Khedri skhedri@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Siamak Elyasi (Chemical Engineering)
 
Chetna Sharma csharma@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Gautam Das (Physics)
 
O'Neill Tedrow otedrow@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee (Biology)
 
Bijaya Kumar Uprety buprety@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Sudip Rakshit (Chemical Engineering)
 
Tian Shuang tshuang@lakeheadu.ca
Supervisor: Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)

 
 
2014 Spring/Summer
 
 
Harutyun Poladyan  hpoladya@lakeheadu.ca
Organ Specific Positron Emission Tomography Devices Based on SiPMs
Supervisor: Dr. Alla Reznik (TBRRI)
 
Chris Abraham cabraham@lakeheadu.ca
Innovative MRI Guidance of HIFU using targeted nano-particles
Supervisor: Dr. Laura Curiel (TBRRI)
 
 
2014 Winter

 
Robert Jackson rjackso1@lakeheadu.ca
Pathogen-host Transcriptome Analyses of Whole Genome HPV16 Variants in an Immune-competent 3D Model of Human Skin 
Supervisor: Dr. Ingeborg Zehbe (TBRRI)
 
Sai Swaroop Reddy Dalli sdalli@lakeheadu.ca
Utilization of Hemicellulose Hydrolyzate for the Production of Platform Chemicals
Supervisor: Dr.Sudip Rakshit (Chemical Engineering)
 
Modification of Kraft Lignin to Produce Flocculants for Waste Water Systems
Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi (Chemical Engineering)


2013 Fall

 
Andrew Drainville radrainv@lakeheadu.ca
Tunable Mid-Infrared Fiber Laser for Biomedical Applications 
Supervisor: Dr. Gautam Das (Physics)
 
Bal Ram Adhikari badhikar@lakeheadu.ca
Development of Nanomaterials-based Electrochemical Biosensor for Medical and Food Applications
Supervisor: Dr. Aicheng Chen (Chemistry)
 
Md Shafiqur Rahman mrahman7@lakeheadu.ca
Biocoversion of Crude Glycerol to Biofuels and Value-added Bioproducts
Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology)
 
Melissa Togtema mtogtema@lakeheadu.ca
A Single Domain Antibody to Target Human Papillomavirus 16E6: Its Engineering and Applications
Supervisor: Dr. Ingeborg Zehbe (TBRRI)

 

2013 Spring/Summer

 
Mohan Konduri   mkonduri@lakeheadu.ca
Separation of Lignocellulose from Spent Liquor of Various Pulp Process
Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi (Cheminal Engineering)
 
 

2013 Winter

 
Alaa Alhazmi  aalhazmi@lakeheadu.ca
Exploration of NOD-like Receptors (NLRs) as New Target Therapy of    Pseudomonas aeruginosa
Supervisor: Dr. Marina Ulanova (NOSM)
 
Stephanie Puukila spuukila@lakeheadu.ca
Oxidative Stress in Cardiovascular Disease
Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper (NOSM)


 2012 Spring/Summer

 
Amber Jarvinen aforeste@lakeheadu.ca
Biochemical and Genetic Analysis of Microorganisms in Bioreduction
Supervisor:  Dr. Carney Matheson (Anthropology)
 
Nadiya Dragneva ndragneva@lakeheadu.ca
Modelling Molecular Mechanisms of Biocompatibility of Artificial Materials
Supervisor:  Dr. Oleg Rubel (TBRRI)
 

 2011 Fall

 
Ashley Untereiner  aunterei@lakeheadu.ca
The Interaction of Hydrogen Sulphide and PGC-1Alpha in Diabetes
Supervisor: Dr. Lingyun Wu (Public Health), Dr. Rui Wang (Biology) 
 
Christina Mol  cmol@lakeheadu.ca
Bioremediation of Contaminated Soils from Mine Sites Using Native Plants in Northwestern Ontario 
Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee (Biology)
 
Marcus Couch  mcouch@lakeheadu.ca
Functional Imaging of the Lungs Using Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Inert Fluorinated Gases
Supervisor: Dr. Mitchell Albert (Chemistry)
 

 2011 Winter

 
Peipei Wang   pwang@lakeheadu.ca
The Metabolism of Hydrogen Sulfide in the Development of Asthma
Supervisor: Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)  
 


 2010 Fall

 
YoungJun Ju   yju@lakeheadu.ca
S-sulfhydration Modification of Mitochondrial Pyruvate Carboxylase by
Hydrogen Sulphide

Supervisor: Dr. Guangdong Yang (Kinesiology), Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)